112th Iowa Amateur Championship

July 25-27, 2014 - Finkbine Golf Course - Iowa City


Iowa Amateur Home IGA Championship Schedule IGA Championship History Iowa Am Exempt Players Player of the Year Iowa Golf Hall of Fame

View Pairings and Results Here

About Finkbine GC

from finkbine.com

Finkbine Golf Course is the University of Iowa Athletics Department championship golf course and is home to the Men’s and Women’s Collegiate Teams.

Named for W.O. Finkbine, who donated the land to The University of Iowa, this scenic golf course, from the championship tee, stretches over 7,200 yards of rolling Iowa terrain, and plays to a par 72 with a USGA course rating of 74.6 and slope rating of 134.

Finkbine has been the home to numerous NCAA tournaments plus the Amana VIP Classic, and 1991 Hogan Tour, and 1992 and 1993 Nike Tour Hawkeye Classic tournaments.




Strong field set to compete at Finkbine in 112th Iowa Amateur

The 112th Iowa Amateur Championship will return to Finkbine Golf Course in Iowa City for a fifth time after an 18 year hiatus. The tournament will be held July 25-27 and is host to a strong field once again, containing eight former champions.

Finkbine opened in 1953 and was designed by Robert Bruce Harris. It features many challenges including: a heavily tree lined layout, thick and challenging rough, quick greens that include subtle and sometimes severe elevation changes as well as large bunkers. The course is home to the University of Iowa men's and women's golf teams. - click to read more...



- 2013 -

Elliott wins third Iowa Amateur

Unconventional move bolsters Gene Elliott's Iowa Amateur title
story by Rick Brown, DM Register

View Photo Gallery

View Highlight Video

View Coldwater's Facebook page with loads of photos from the Iowa Am

Gene Elliott won his third Iowa Amateur on Sunday at Coldwater in Ames

Gene Elliott won his third Iowa Amateur title on Sunday at Coldwater Golf Links in Ames.  Elliott, of West Des Moines, posted a 54-hole total of 3-under 210 to finish one stroke ahead of Dane Worley of Cedar Rapids.  Elliott also won the Iowa Amateur in 2000 and 2011.

Worley came into the final round with a two stroke lead but a few early bogeys brought him back to the field.  Elliott, meanwhile, played steady over the front nine.  He posted 1-under par to make the turn with a one stroke lead.  Both players made bogey on 10 and Worley followed with another bogey on 11, giving Elliott a two stroke lead.  A birdie at 12 got Worley back to within a stroke but he was only able to match Elliott on the remaining six holes, finishing one shot shy.

Tanner Kesterson finished in third on the strength of his championship best 6-under 65 in the final round.  Kesterson, who plays collegiately at Oklahoma State and lives in Fort Dodge in the summers, had seven birdies and a bogey in his first 9 holes on Sunday.  He turned in 30 and then played even par on the back nine, finishing two strokes behind Elliott.

The Scottish-inspired links at Coldwater proved to be an ample test for the 155 players that teed it up to start play Friday.  The fairways were firm and fast, greens slick and the winds blew, making scoring difficult for the field. 


Championship Facts


112th Iowa Amateur


Front 9 - Par 36
Rds 1 & 2 - 3,479
Round 3 - 3,512 yards

Back 9 - Par 36
Rds 1 & 2 - 3,485 yards
Round 3 - 3,650 yards

Total - Par 72
Rds 1 & 2 - 6,964 yards
Round 3 - 7,162 yards


Click here to view

Finkbine GC scorecard



Finkbine was designed by Robert Bruce Harris and opened for play in 1953.



Finkbine has hosted multiple IGA Championships including:

Iowa Match Play (2013)
Iowa Women's Match Play (2013)
Iowa Women's State Am (2010)



The IGA has accepted a full field of 156 entrants into the 112th Iowa Amateur. Click the links on the left of this webpage to see results and pairings.



Friday, July 25th: First round, 18 holes

Saturday, July 26th: Second round, 18 holes (field cut to the low 60 and ties after second round)

Sunday, July 27th: Final round, 18 holes - Awards Ceremony following play



2013: Gene Elliott
2012: Jon Olson
2011: Gene Elliott
2010: Mike McCoy

2009: Ben Herrera

2008: Mike Oimoen

2007: Jared Walahoski

2006: Jon Brown

2005: Brian Verduyn

2004: Nate Dunn

2003: Scott Hart

2002: Bo Anderson

2001: Bo Anderson

2000: Gene Elliott

1999: Matt Gatchel

1998: Mike McCoy

1997: Chris Emanuel



Mike McCoy holds the record for lowest score relative to par    (-20) in an Iowa Amateur, established in 2010 at Bent Tree GC in Council Bluffs.


Art Bartlett holds the record for most Iowa Amateur victories with seven (7).


Rod Bliss Jr and Rod Bliss III are the only Father-Son combo to each win the Iowa Amateur


John Jacobs and Bob McKee are the only players with titles in three different decades


Jack Webb defeated brother Don Webb in the 1949 Iowa Amateur Championship Match


The Iowa Amateur switched from Match Play to Stroke Play in 1960


The Iowa Amateur was not held from 1943-1945 due to World War II.


Copyright 2014 Iowa Golf Association